California Dreaming

February 17, 2009

A musical ode to California

http://www.divshare.com/download/6573926-7ab

There was a thread on a message board which invited readers to suggest songs from the late 60s and early 70s that were devoted to the beatification of the state of California. This spun the hamster wheel that fuels my brain since there were so many odes to the apex and aftermath of free love and hallucinogens. Some of these songs embrace the innocence of bursting through social norms, others pay tribute to the majestic scenery of its cities and rural enclaves while others bemoan the loss of innocence in the wake of addiction and the realization that love is anything but free. Anyhow, I figured that I would share my contribution here. Here is the tracklisting that I intended, but somehow my upload rearranged its order. Anyway you slice it, it is still a delicious pie.

Sir Douglas Quintet-Menocino

Moby Grape-Hey Grandma

John Phillips-Topanga Canyon

Guy Clark-LA Freeway

Terry Melcher-Beverly Hills

Neil Young-Revolution Blues

Shirl Milete-Love Child

Robert Charlebois-California

Mickey Newbury-San Francisco Mable Joy

Michael Nesmith-Hollywood

Lee Hazlewood-LA LAdy

Laura Nyro-California Shoeshine Boys

Jim Ford-Working My Way to Los Angeles

Jack Nitzsche-Lower California

Jesse Colin Young-Ridgetop

Flatlanders-San Francisco Bay Blues

Flying Burrito Bros-Sin City

David Crosby-Tamalpais High(At about 3)

Terry Allen-Cortez Sail

Mickey Newbury-Frisco Depot

5 Responses to “California Dreaming”

  1. GM Says:

    It seems there are two files missing. I’ve got neither Moby Grape nor the Flying Burrito Bros. in my download. This is a great collection though, so thank you very much.

  2. mrowster Says:

    Great mix of singer-songwritery/rural Californiana, much of which I’ve never explored before. Favorite moments so far: the Ringoesque drumming and trippy jam end to the Nesmith tune, the sound efx Mickey Newbury puts to fine use, and that fat greasy bacon bass in the Jim Ford cut. Now I gotta go back and listen closer to the lyrics . . .

  3. little bobby fuck piece Says:

    this makes me want to go out to the garage… weld and chop a pedal extension… drive my mustang.. steal gas… get a tattoo .. an eye-patch… and collect MOTORAMMA cards…


  4. […] and so I went searching for a musical mix dedicated to California. Magic is Tragic’s “Musical Ode to California” is what I found. I know nothing about the compiler, only that he assembled a mix of tracks […]

Leave a Reply

