Let Us Walk Between the Raindrops Together

August 3, 2008

Hello all, here is the second take on a thematically correct mixtape for this lowly blog. The last one was devoted to songs that tug at the ol’ heartstrings, so I am predictably focusing on tunes that put a shit eating grin on my noggin. Some of these may not exactly be sunshine and lollipops, but they are all sounds that remind me of exceptional times in a lovely life.

1. Primal Scream-Velocity Girl(from a Creation single): http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?tadyuscixdn

Forget their lamentable forays into the most homerotic take on the Stones this side of an Atlantic City variety act, this is Prmial Scream’s most consise, upbeat perfection of indie-pop. Sadly, they quickly abandoned this strain of genius for this laughable Sonic Flower Groove album. That one makes Mick and Bowie in bed seem more badass than the Hells Angels.

2. Zumpano-Behind the Beehive(from Going Through Changes LP): http://www.mediafire.com/?qvqi3x6bwzu

I’ve heard many swoon over this band, but there is only one song of theirs that truly sings to me. Actually, it doesn’t just sing to me; it sums up all that I could ever want in a complex pop song. Each time I hear this song, I find something more to love about it. Total extension of what the Zombies were up to on Odyssey and Oracle, but less pristine.

3. The Zombies-This Will be Our Year(from Zombie Heaven Box Set): http://www.mediafire.com/?z5vq4gzsehd

Speaking of which, i picked this song to be performed at my wedding. Some friends in the Snow Fairies accomodated my wish and did a stellar job at capturing the blind-eyed optimism inherent in this song. More people should cling to the sentiments espoused here. This is a sunny day with a free hoagie in your footpath.

4. Unrest-Imperial(from Imperial fffr LP): http://www.mediafire.com/?ljfvnfm3vlg

The lyrics say so little, but Mark Robinson’s delivery speaks volumes. It approaches the eight minute mark and I wish it would last an entire album. It isn’t an upbeat ditty, but it may be the most angelic ballad about the utter majesty of the sun ever recorded. Actually, it may be the only one, but I ain’t counting. Everything is in slow-motion as he hits every high note in his piggy bank. Totally stunning and it reminds me of why I listen to music.

5. Terry Riley-You’re No Good :http://www.mediafire.com/?2g6mr4bzxgn

A mangling of a 60s soul number that takes the hook and reinvents it in countless ways until it becomes a mantra. A tribute to the power of pop that is so hallucinogenic, fucked, but so catchy that you forget it is just a manipulation of a few seconds of music spread over twenty minutes. This is the best moment of Terry Riley’s career and his most accessible in its own bizarro way.

6. Link Wray-La Di Da (From s/t LP): http://www.mediafire.com/?0wgph7lfzj8

This album bears little resemblance to the Link Wray you may have heard in the past. He recorded a few albums of southern psych pop/rock that are totally amazing. No bad ass vibes in sight. This is stoned bliss as Wray vamps like he is recording Exile on Main Street pt 2. It’s got the borrowed choir, Jagger-esque squeals, sleazy vibe and a shaggy dog demeanor.

7. Lee Michaels-Heighty Hi(from s/t LP): http://www.mediafire.com/?pwy74nvwro6

This is the inverse of the previous track, It is as if you lobotomized the Stones and made a 70s bubblegum anthem. The title states its depth, but I’ll be damned if I didn’t dance like a lonesome fool each time it was played. Heighty Hi, indeed.

8. Hercules and Love Affair-Blind(from s/t LP): http://www.mediafire.com/?akom1vj0vbg

I always had a soft spot for Antony and the Johnsons, but his vocals on this track have inspired me to sing this at the top of my lungs to no one in particular. I would wear coochie-cutters and poom-poom pants simultaneously to this one. The rest of the album is good, but this one almost dethrones Ten City’s “That’s The Way Love Is” as my top guily pleasure in house music.

9. The Gun Club-Sex Beat(from Fire of Love LP)

http://www.mediafire.com/?mhwcdblokzz

I like X and the Dangerhouse singles, but never got into much of the late 70s/early 80s West Coast punk scene, but the Gun Club’s Fire of Love album had me at hello. Their raunchy punk take on rockabilly and blues bears such little resemblance to anything recorded during that era. Miami and subsequent albums were such bummers in comparison. Again, the lyrics are a bunch of gobbledygook, but they deliver the message of a so-called sex beat so passionately that I almost find it sensual. When Jeffrey Lee Pierce sings “We can fuck forever, but you can’t forget my soul” I somehow listen with open ears.

10. Family Fodder-Savoir Faire(From Savoir Faire comp): http://www.mediafire.com/?gqjovbgmfiw

Yes, this song adheres to the new wave format of Toni Basil and Missing Persons, but there is something damaged and imperfect about their attempt at pop music. Considering the oddball nature of their catalogue, it is no surprise that their attempt at a catchy tune is downright brilliant, but destined to appeal to so few. This song goes through the motions of being a new wave hit, but it doesn’t quite fit into that peg, which is why I love it so.

11. Drive Like Jehu-Here Come the Rome Plows(From Yank Crime LP)

http://www.mediafire.com/?zwrc1yqjjk1

This is what I always wanted punk to sound like and it was an absolute pleasure to finally hear it realized. I had the pleasure of seeing them on the Yank Crime tour in Philly at the Khyber Pass and it may be one of the most exhilarating shows I’ve seen this side of Michael Hurley. I couldn’t hear well for days, but I didn’t mind because it was all peak and no valley.

12. Devo-Gates of Steel(From Recombo DNA LP)

http://www.mediafire.com/?xibkwenulw0

Let me count the ways I love Devo. On second thought, that’s a bad idea. I can’t explain why Gates of Steel is my favorite song they recorded. It is a clunky, awkward anthem that should have been more popular than it was. It may have been their most straightforward punk/new wave anthem that didn’t involve whip. i listen to this version incessantly, which worries me at times, but there are worse songs to waste your life upon.

13. Blank Dogs-Meltdown Cloud(from On Two Sides LP)

http://www.mediafire.com/?dmjtws9thbf

You may disagree, but this song reminds me of New Order’s Movement layered in scuzz and sped up to punk tempo. Since I adore Movement and its cold, robotic view of the universe, this whole album uplifts me in an unhealthy way.

14. Belle and Sebastian-The Boy With the Arab Strap

http://www.mediafire.com/?qwjncmn2jwt

Long ago, a friend stated that this song reminded him of me. The narcissistic side of me was thrilled to discover that the song was about a man with a filthy laugh, love of dive bars and uncouth demeanor, but depressed to find the song described his worst qualities. I’ve upgraded a bit, but still find too much in common with this song.

15. The Bats-The Other Side of You(From The Law of Things LP)

http://www.mediafire.com/?xubvnkkoom5

Pure optimism is afoot in this track, I always loved the upbeat, but melancholy mood of New Zealand indie-pop and this is one of its bittersweet pinnacles. The instrumentation is incessantly peppy, but the lyrics describe a tale of a lover discovering a hidden side of their lover. It perfectly describes the shifting realities of a relationship.

more to come, still working on it, five more will show up tomorrow, it is late and my cup is too deep.

3 Responses to “Let Us Walk Between the Raindrops Together”


  1. this will be our year = everything I love about the zombies encapsulated in one bittersweet little song

  2. waynetoytown Says:

    I love the way you describe Family Fodder as “damaged and imperfect” – a perfect summary of their offbeat pop sound. I’m one of the few they appealed to as well.

  3. sven Says:

    Thanks for the great mixes!

    Everyone has their own way of listing music in their libraries – I change metadata to group each mix into it’s own CD mix, and re-tag track numbers to mach each mixes blog page list, et-cetera. So in changing the various source CD titles I create one title for all songs in each mix and create an album-art picture for the entire mix – I used a screen shot of the maroon background from this blogs’ page and then just added colored text of the mix name for each mix. The only reason I bother to mention all that is because I took the 11 cover art creations I made for these mixes and uploaded them to this link

    http://www.mediafire.com/download/l55kgaxq7n49vwn/zMixArtTEMPLATES.zip

    it’s only about 6 megabytes total – very small download – just in case anyone wants to do something similar with whatever mixes they have downloaded.

    enjoy
    -sven

Leave a Reply

