Killed By Death Volume 2

July 14, 2008

Various Artists

Killed by Death #2

http://www.mediafire.com/?zpcmmxb3lip

I won’t ramble too long since my first post sums up my love for the series. However, this one is special because it is my favorite in the entire series. In fact, it may be my favorite collection of punk songs. The lyrics on a few songs are a bit too dude-centric and misogynistic for my blood, but I guess the world was due for punk anthems about STDs, analingus and brief interludes where just a blowjob will do. Tributes to serial killers also play a role here as the David Berkowitz and John Wayne Gacy get their inevitable punk tributes here. The Chain Gang’s tribute to Berkowitz “Son of Sam” is one of my favorites since it suggests what may happen if The Monks were hatched in the punk era. This is meathead music and I mean that as a compliment. I used to listen to this while taking the train to work to get myself prepared for a day of teaching high school in the inner city. I don’t know what that says about me. Maybe I am headed for my own personal version of Falling Down. Anyway, it’s a brilliant example of rock at its most raw, primal and catchy.

I will continue to post volumes 3-15 at my leisure.

Leave a Reply

