Disco Inferno – D.I. Go Pop

June 24, 2008

Disco Inferno

D.I. Go Pop (1994 Rough Trade)

http://www.divshare.com/download/4814230-e35

If I had to compile a list of my favorite albums of the 90s, D.I. Go Pop would be near the top. Their earlier eps and the Open Doors, Closed Windows lp were full of bleak, gothic post-punk that owed much to Joy Division, New Order’s Movement and the 4ad roster. It was derivative to be sure, but they experimented and expanded upon the work of their influences to create something entirely their own. However, none of this prepared me for the fucked up, sad and brilliant direction they took on D.I Go Pop.

D.I. Go Pop was released a year after Seefeel’s Quique and both share some parallels. Where Seefeel used My Bloody Valentine’s Loveless and shoegaze as a launching pad for their love of electronics and dub, Disco Inferno’s discovery of the MIDI sampler enabled them to create a wholly unique and groundbreaking sound. Quique was a throbbing, sexual drone that is warm and inviting while D.I. Go Pop is a dark, alienating album that approximates the depression and loneliness of Ian Curtis’ suicidal worldview. The difference between the two bands is that Disco Inferno blew apart their love of Factory and 4ad into a million pieces and reassembled them in a way that still sounds new today.

Their usage of the MIDI sampler pervades the record and guitarist/vocalist Ian Crause even hooked up each individual string to its own sampler. This triggers a kaleidoscope of effects that are downright disorienting at times, but they complement Crause’s bitter songs of estrangement and loss. If you removed these electronic effects, D.I. Go Pop is just like the rest of their output. The fan in me wants to know what music, person or life event influenced them to incorporate electronics into their music because it made the difference between a good album and a classic. Anyway you slice it, D.I. Go Pop still sounds as alien as it did fourteen years ago.

2 Responses to “Disco Inferno – D.I. Go Pop”

  1. Hesketh Says:

    Some DI info on my blog here :

    http://crystalspires.livejournal.com/4725.html

    Hope it’s informative.

  2. John A Knight Says:

    Magicistragic, in 2002 I formed a band called Bay Big Odd Back in which we have guitars,basses,and drums trigger samples in a non-minimalistic way. Later albums we added saxophone,vocals,and banjo. We currently have three albums:Historiography of Rock And Roll, From Out of Trend Tube Barre Oranges,and Rodinia. We are still working on the 4th album. We have not played live and I am really surprised Disco Inferno did considering computer crash so easily!

Leave a Reply

