Joe Frank-Cave Dreamer

June 8, 2008

Joe Frank

Cave Dreamer

http://www.mediafire.com/?4yvtytlmxad

One of America’s unsung storytellers, Joe Frank is a criminally underrated soul. My first experience with Joe Frank was during bouts of insomnia that plagued my youth. For some misbegotten reason, I could fall asleep at the drop of a hat except Sunday–the day before I had to return to an all boys Catholic high school. I dealt with this by watching late-night PBS and Jack Horkenheimer, but the best solution was found on WXPN when they played the latest Joe Frank story.

I’ve always had a love of AM and late-night radio since it approximates public access cable at its rare best. I loved everything from the apocalyptic preachers of Ohio to the boorish banter of sports talk radio to the intelligent oasis of WWDB’s political conversations.

None of these prepared me for Joe Frank. My seventeen year old mind was blown by his monologues of subterranean dwellers, suicidal noir anti-heroes and absurd situations. His deep, bellowing voice called out to me and edited my own view of a story. Joe Frank described another world that I bought into wholeheartedly.

This isn’t my favorite show if his, but it is still damn great. It is a throwback to the radio epics of the 40s and 50s, but with a sick twist. Please send me any other recordings at magictragic21@yahoo.com.

Actually, all requests should be made to magictragic21@yahoo.com

One Response to “Joe Frank-Cave Dreamer”

  1. Pete Says:

    Thanks for the Joe Frank. I think we probably were in different geographies, but at the same effective time, having the same experience. A friend in high school introduced me to Joe Frank, and turned my head around. I actually got to see him perform live in LA in ’89. The late nights of listening stand as some of my favorite moments in life. He is an American Treasure, and it amazes me that he is not better recognized. Not doubt he changed many a dream as the radio waves emanated over the Hollywood landscape….

Leave a Reply

